↑ Top
↑ Top
Site navigation
Next/Previous page is accessible by arrow key.

Compositions by Alun Hoddinott

16 compositions
Composition M Catalog Comp'd Duration Publisher Notes  
Quartet 1946


Weep No More 1947

Text by John Fletcher; withdrawn

Includes: Tenor
Phantasy String Quartet 1947

Exists in two versions; withdrawn

Toccata 1947 A

Revised in 1950; withdrawn

Theme and Variations 1947


6 Bagatelles in the Form of Diversions 1947 B


A Lover’s Complaint 1949

Text by William Shakespeare; withdrawn

Includes: Tenor
Quartet No. 1 Op. 43 1965

Oxford University Press

Scena Op. 100 No. 1 1979  
Quartet No. 2 Op. 113 1984

University College Cardiff Press

Quartet No. 3 Op. 130 1988  
Ritornelli 3 1991

Adaptation of the composer’s own music

Quartet No. 4 Op. 160 1996 B


Commissioned by:

Machynlleth Tabernacle Trust; Welsh Arts Council

Quartet No. 5 Op. 177 2001

Oriana Publications

Celebration 2004 A  
Commissioned by:

Royal College of Obstetricians and Gynaecologists

Music for String Quartet Op. 191 2006

Associated Board of the Royal Schools of Music

Commissioned by:

London String Quartet Foundation; Associated Board of the Royal Schools of Music; John S. Cohen Foundation; Neville Abraham Foundation